Hangin’ out with Nigerians

The faces of Nigerian stars have changed but the stories remain the same. Stories of village life versus town life, passionate love and unrequited love, royalty and disloyalty, religion, wealth, poverty and seeking greener pastures in Lagos and among the oyinbos.

I have grown from the child who sat around the television to watch Ramsey Noah and Genevieve Nnaji’s love stories and Pete Edochie’s conspiracies with her parents, siblings and cousins  to an adult who binge watches contemporary Nigerian movies on her phone past midnight.

According to this author, in Africa, Nigerian movies have always been in a league of the own. Until the recent past, Ugandan movies could never hold a candle to them. Many are the times I covered my eyes in shame while watching Ugandan action movies. You guys, we used to be extremely terrible. One could real see fictious bullets being fired. I don’t want to even talk about the history of Ugandan movies.

In the recent past, the Ugandan movie industry has redeemed itself in partnership with multichoice. Prime time drama series like Sanyu, Prestige, Beloved and Damalie are now household names and I must say I am super proud of my maamaland. Thank you for not giving up on the ‘Big Dream.’

To watch an excellent movie from your maamaland is a fascinating affair. I mean you can totally relate with everything from the plot to the culture and language used yet I must say the Nigerians already won over my heart. I have this on and off relationship with them. I might wonder off to other countries but as per my writing, Nigerian movies are topping my chats. They have literally replaced my reading time in this season.

Nigerian movies are action packed and at the same time, they make me feel something. After binging on them for over three months, I can’t comfortably watch anything else to the extent that I now desire to taste their slimy mouth-watering meat dishes, egusi and pounded yam. I crave their spicy jollof rice. Visiting Nigeria has officially made it to my bucket list.

Hangin’ out with Nigerians has given me a taste of their rich culture. Nigerians love their music and dance, I’m yet to see a Nigerian who can’t dance. No wonder most of the viral contemporary dances have their roots in Nigeria. Nigerians love  their fashion. But most of all, I keep going back to them for more movies because they love love. Who doesn’t love love?

Viral Meme
Pinterest
Pinterest

7 responses to “Hangin’ out with Nigerians”

  1. Hey, Winnie. I read this while eating. I had to stop my meal…this piece caught my attention. Many words to say, may I cap it at saying, by the time you visit Nigeria, i trust you will be welcome with Egusi and pounded yam.

    I am amazed at how you have over the years memorized some use of words, like Oyinbo, and spelling it correctly. Well, it is a writing season, i have been enticed with your comments, entries among others. There is much to learn from your vast knowledge about Africa.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am as Nigerian as I am a Ugandan…

      Can’t wait to taste Egusi soup

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my word I loved Nigerian cinema (or maybe just didnt have a choice as every Saturday there was a Nigerian movie on TV) πŸ˜‚ Regardless I have fond memories of Ramsey Noah, Genevieve Nnaji, Pete Edochie, James Ike and absolutely hated Β Patience Ozokwo aka Mai Azuka who was always the evil mother-in-law or evil step-mother, village witch πŸ˜‚

    ~B

    PS I may or may not have had a crush on a girl back in high school because she looked like Genevieve Nnaji or was it that I liked Genevieve Nnaji because she looked like someone I had a crush on I cant remember which crush came first πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
      We’ve all been there. Falling on lovers on screen…

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Southafrican film is what nigerian film is to you.
    I haven’t watched nigerians in a while it would be intriguing to see what they are upto now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And I haven’t watched South African films since Generations. How are the South African? πŸ€—

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You need to start watching…just one show will.sell you.
    They are good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started