Enjoying fruit straight from our gardens

Growing up, I was surrounded by buildings, buildings and more buildings. All I knew, for most of my life, was preparing food bought from the market. I was a stranger to the joy a farmer experiences by eating of the fruit from his garden!

About two years ago; my family and I relocated to a new home and now my surrounding is homes, gardens, homes and more gardens. We now have a small backyard garden. Words can’t express the joy that fills my heart every time we eat of the fruit straight from our backyard. I smile as I behold the fruit that surrounds us. It is such an awesome feeling.

Enjoying fruit from our gardens starts with sowing. It is what we sow that yields fruit. This same principle applies to our spiritual lives.

"The sower sows the word." Mark 4:14. The word of God is seed that yields the life of God in us. Jesus elaborated this in Mark 4:26-29, "And he said, so is the kingdom of God, as if a man should cast seed into the ground; And should sleep, and rise night and day, and the seed should spring and grow up, he knows not how. For the earth brings forth fruit of itself; first the blade, then the ear, after that the full grain in the ear. But when the fruit is brought forth, immediately he puts in the sickle, because the harvest is come."

As we study, meditate and speak the word of God, we are sowing it. In due season, this word yields the fruit of the life of God in us.For close to a year, almost everyday, I speak or meditate on the verse, “Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the Lord forever. ” Psalm 23:6. Now I behold the fruit of this verse in my life with ease; in the wonderful friendships God has blessed me with that I never even prayed for, in the leaders God has placed in my life, in joy, peace, love and so much more. My eyes are open to the goodness of God and I am constantly grateful to Him because I know all this goodness is His.

The beauty about sowing the word of God is that when we start enjoying fruit, we attribute it to God because our focus is on Him. It ceases to be about us but God. Where we would have previously thought it’s our own ability, we give the glory to God.

It is good to enjoy the fruit of the word delivered by our spiritual leaders and we have to keep doing so because God has placed them over us as our shepherds. Better it is for us to sow the word on our own and let God’s word bear fruit in us. God reveals alot to us as we seek him. That way, we will live not on the borrowed faith of our leaders but on one we have cultivated and God has caused to be fruitful.

Our hearts are gardens, we have the word of God to sow in them. May each one of us fully enjoy the fruit of the word of God as we let his word dwell in us richly in all Wisdom. The fruit of love, joy,peace,longsuffeing, gentleness, goodness, Faith, meekness and temperance. May we stop living only on the spiritual fruit from others’ gardens. Lets pick up our bibles; use our You Versons, for enjoying fruit from our “gardens” awaits us in the seed of God’s word. We may know not when the harvest will come but with consistent sowing of the word, we will reap a Bountiful enjoyable harvest.

4 responses to “Enjoying fruit straight from our gardens”

  1. Tinah Wanyetse Avatar
    Tinah Wanyetse

    This is so amazing am so proud of you Winnie. You are a winning Winner WinnieπŸ˜˜πŸ˜πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺ

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can relate with the joy of enjoying harvest from a garden.The toils and hurdles cease to matter.This also brings to mind the magic of child birth,for 9 months,there is alot no woman wants to re-live.The pains and screams during child labour,then comes the magic of life which floods the room with untold joy.
    I hope that we shall all run the race of salvation until we get the crown.
    #winningwinnie
    #keep winning

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Zerida dear. Let’s keep sowing

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started