The Mystery of Love and Marriage

My two eldest brothers got married quiet early, one shortly after school and the other a year later. As such, they set a pace at home that I, their follower, don’t seem to be catching up with. For that reason I have my 13 year old sister occasionally reminding me of how I am taking long to bring her a brother-inlaw. While some people have their parents costantly throwing lines at them of how they ought to get married, my little sister does that job quite well. What she doesn’t know, however, is that love and marriage are a mystery!

A mystery is something that is difficult or impossible to understand or explain. It is a puzzle.

Proverbs 30:18-19 says,”There are three things that amaze me-no four things that I don’t understand: how an eagle glides through the sky, how a snake slithers on a rock, how a ship navigates the ocean, how a man loves a woman.”

I mean, who but God can explain this puzzle of how a man loves a woman to the extent of getting married? Doesn’t it amaze you to see a man pick out his bride from multitudes of women! That a man could pick a particular lady to spend the rest of his life with is a mystery. Some have got married to their childhood sweethearts. Others have had to cross over to different cultures to pick a bride, some to the girl next door, others the person they least expected. Each love story and Marriage is a mystery. There are people who fell in love and got married at the time they planned to while others were caught unaware. Some wait for a long time to get married. There’s no formula to falling in love, getting married and starting a family.

There are as diverse stories as there are marriages. I guess you too can now understand why the writer of the proverbs above says that he is amazed and at the same time doesn’t understand how a man loves a woman. No person can control the feelings of a man regarding who he loves. What’s even more amazing is when the lady he loves loves him back.

When we understand that love and marriage are a mystery, we get to;

  1. Appreciate the different marriages that surround us; they are mysteries, they are intriguing.
  2. Put the pressure off ourselves (the unmarrieds), even the pressure that comes from little sisters.

One day, my sister will behold the mystery of the brother-inlaw she pesters me for. As for now, all I know is that love and marriage are a mystery; a puzzle. I too am amazed and don’t understand how a man loves a woman to the extent for leaving his father and mother, being united to her and the two becoming one.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started