What Fuels My Writing

When you love someone, you want the whole world to know about it. And when you love something, everyone around you has to know about it. It’s that simple.

The love I have for words makes me read. And if reading is what takes up most of your time, you start writing. In Pam Allyn’s words, “Reading is like breathing in. Writing is like breathing out”.

Pinterest

Most writers start by breathing out in the privacy of their diaries, but there comes a time in the life of a writer when something beyond them pushes them to share their thoughts with the rest of the world. And to their surprise, other people get to identify with their writings.

Pinterest

When inspiration strikes, I run here and write. And when written words fail, I speak. Have you ever been so sure of what you desire so communicate but fail to find the exact words to use? That’s when my words meander in my attempt to express myself. If I am lucky enough, like in this season of the storytelling festival, I cross paths with a blogger who in a sentence expressed exactly what my entire blog or paragraph was trying to achieve. 

Then those moments when I haphazardly discover a blog post in which the author stripped their heart bare for all to see it’s raw state, and I happen to identify with that piece of literature, word for word, my passion for writing is rekindled. If someone’s writing is able to make me laugh, to make me cry, to reassure me that I am not alone, then I am inspired to bare my heart out for others too. There in lies my passion for blogging.

Pinterest

I have bled on the pages of books. Stories have been my lifeline and tutor. I have joined characters on their adventures. And, books have sparked me into action. That’s why I read. That’s why I write. To be sharpened and to sharpen others. And to do something I enjoy.

As iron sharpens iron,so one person sharpens iron,so one person sharpens another

Proverbs 27:17

Pinterest
Pinterest

4 responses to “What Fuels My Writing”

  1. the connection between reading and writing is strong.

    Here’s to more of the fuel 💪

    ~B

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The two sides of a coin; reading and writing

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Madam Writer, I love the opening line of this blog post. Writing and reading work well together. When you read you see life differently, you gain knowledge and your writing is testament of it

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started